Yoga VicharChapter 9 - Conclusion

Abhyasa – Constant and dedicated spiritual practice.

Acharya – A self-realised spiritual master.

Akarma – Devotional activities performed solely for the service of Krishna.

Ananda – Transcendental bliss.

Aniruddha – An expansion of Krishna.

Ashram – A spiritual sanctuary for self-realisation.

Ashtanga-yoga – The eightfold yoga system expounded by the sage Patanjali.

Atma – The individual unit of consciousness.

Avatara – A manifestation of Krishna, appearing in different forms.

Balarama – The first expansion of Krishna.

Bhagavad-gita – The ancient Sanskrit yoga treatise spoken by Sri Krishna to His friend Arjuna.

Bhagavan – The personal and most complete aspect of the Supreme.

Bhagavata – The Bhagavata Purana, one of the most important books in bhakti-yoga.

Bhakti – Devotion to Krishna.

Bhakti-yoga – The yogic process of devotion towards Krishna.

Brahma – The first living being in the universe and secondary creator.

Brahman – The impersonal effulgence emanating from the body of Krishna.

Brahmana – A Vedic priest and teacher.

Brahma-samhita – An ancient Sanskrit texts containing the prayers of Brahma to Sri Krishna.

Chatur-vyuha-tattva – The fourfold manifestations of Krishna in Vaikuntha.

ChaitanyacharitamritaA biographical book about the life and teachings of Chaitanya Mahaprabhu.

Chaitanya Mahaprabhu – The avatara of Sri Krishna who appeared in India in the 15th Century to teach bhakti-yoga.

Chanakya – A famous ancient Indian statesman and scholar of the 4th Century BCE.

Chanakya Niti-Shastra – A book containing aphorisms concerning social and moral behaviour by Chanakya.

Dakshina – A traditional gift of gratitude from a student to a teacher.

Devanagari – The Sanskrit script.

Dhyana – Meditation.

Diksha – Initiation into a sacred mantra.

Gayatri – A Vedic mantra glorifying the Supreme Truth.

Goloka – The topmost spiritual planet where Krishna eternally resides.

Gopala – Sri Krishna, the cowherd boy of Vrindavana.

Gopala-mantra – The 18 syllable mantra invoking Sri Krishna.

Gopala-Tapani Upanishad – An Upanishad glorifying Sri Krishna and His abode.

Govinda – A name of Krishna, meaning ‘the Lord of the cows and the material senses.’

Ishvara – The Supreme Controller, Sri Krishna.

Jagannatha Puri – A holy city in Orissa, East India.

Kama-gayatri – A Vedic hymn describing the beauty of Sri Krishna.

Karma – The system of action/reaction. Karma also refers to activites that produce beneficial reactions.

Kirtana – Musical glorification of Sri Krishna.

Kusha – A perennial grass that grows in India and is considered sacred.

Lila – The divine pastimes of Sri Krishna.

Maha-mantra – The foremost mantra for deliverance in this age, comprising of the names of Krishna.

Maha-vakya – Great philosophical maxims from the Upanishads.

Mantra-dhyana – Meditation upon a mantra.

Mayavadi – A propounder of monistic philosophy.

Om (omkara) – The primeval spiritual sound vibration.

Padma Purana – An ancient Vedic text.

Padmasambhava – An 8th Century Indian Buddhist monk who brought Buddhism to Tibet.

Padmasana – The ‘lotus position’, a cross-legged yoga posture.

Paramatma – The manifestation of Krishna within the heart of all living beings.

Parampara – A disciplic succession of guru-disciple.

Patanjali – The author of the Yoga-sutras.

Pradyumna – A form of Krishna.

Pranayama – Controlling the breath, the seat of the life-airs.

Puranas – Ancient Vedic texts.

Sadhana – Spiritual practices.

Samadhi – The perfection of the yoga process.

Samsara – Repeated birth and death in the material world.

Shravana – The process of listening to mantras and spiritual topics.

Shyamasundara – A name for Sri Krishna meaning ‘One who has a beautiful dark complexion.’

Sridhara Deva Goswami – A famous 20th Century bhakti-yogi of the philosophical school of Caitanya Mahaprabhu.

Tantra – Mystical texts, generally in the mode of darkness.

Tapasya – Physical or mental austerities meant for spiritual attainment.

Radha – The principle consort and eternal potency of Sri Krishna.

Rig Veda – One of the four ancient Vedas.

Shiksha – Spiritual instructions.

Siddhi – Mystic powers.

Swami – A yogi in the renounced order of life.

Taraka-brahman – The name of the Absolute Truth that delivers one from repeated birth and death.

Upanishads – The section of the Vedas that deals with transcendental philosophy.

Vaikuntha – The spiritual world where Krishna and His avataras eternally reside.

Vedas – The four principle Vedas – the Rig, Yajur, Sama and Atharva.

Vedanta (see Vedanta-sutra)

Vedanta-sutra – The aphorisms that explain the end of all knowledge.

Vikarma – Activities that create detrimental results.

Vishnu – The avatara of Krishna; the cosmic preserver.

Vrindavana – The appearance place of Sri Krishna.

Yogashala – A place where yoga is practiced.

Yoga-sutras – The aphorisms on yoga by Patanjali Muni.

Yoga Yajnavalkya – An ancient treatise on yoga by the sage Yajnavalkya.

Yogeshvara – A name for Krishna, meaning the Master of Yoga.

Yoga VicharChapter 9 - Conclusion
Avatar of Śrīla Bhakti Gaurava Narasiṅgha Mahārāja
Śrīla Bhakti Gaurava Narasiṅgha Mahārāja (Jagat Guru Swami) appeared on Annadā Ekādaśī at Corpus Christi, USA in 1946. After studies in haṭha-yoga, he took initiation from his guru, Śrīla A.C. Bhaktivedānta Swami Prabhupāda in 1970 and preached in the African continent for 3 years before accepting sannyāsa in 1976. After Prabhupāda’s disappearance, Śrīla Narasiṅgha Mahārāja took śīkṣā (spiritual instruction) from Śrīla B.R. Śrīdhara Deva Gosvāmī and Śrīla B.P Purī Gosvāmī. Although he spent most of his spiritual life preaching in India, Narasiṅgha Mahārāja also travelled to Europe, Mexico and the United States to spread the message of his spiritual masters. He penned over 200 essays and 13 books delineating Gauḍīya Vaiṣṇava siddhānta. He left this world in his āśrama in South India in 2020.